The line it is drawn errr blurred


The line, it is drawn, the curse, it is cast
The slow one will later be fast
And the present now will soon be the past
The order is rapidly fading
The first one now will later be last
For the times, they are a changing

Bet Bob Dylan didn’t see all these changes coming way back in 1964. Sure his song is very topical for its time and makes excellent, perhaps the most excellent, commentary on the era, at least that is what the index of pretty much any book you pick up about the 1960’s will tell you. But now, flip that on its head, and fast forward to 2011 and that same artist could really be singing about his career if he weren’t,errr , Bob Dylan. But Bob Dylan as a young 20 something in 2011 sure as sand could be singing about himself. Except the times are not changing, they have changed.
I am working on helping other artists adjust to these changes and move into new, possibly uncomfortable, areas. And the question came up with a person I work with, it was asked by me, and made me think of the lyric above. “Where does the line start or end between musician and promoter, or artist and online publicist, or recording artist and manager?” It took me back a bit. I had posed a question to myself. Great I was talking to myself? But would I answer myself.
Where does this line begin and end? By being other roles to other people was I jumping into new skin? Was I being this person part of the time and then this person the other times and then I realized, in these crazy times I was being kind of like my dad’s definition of a man. He used to say, when I asked when I would be a man, “A man is a man when a man is called for.” I would always go “huh?” and pretend that I understood. But we are in this same conundrum. And here is the answer to the question.
“the line is now erased.”

Leave a Reply

